Art & a Trigger Warning in Second Life

Transit’t-Taciturnly by Selavy Oh (moderate)

Mimesis Monday and Selavy Oh have collaborated on Transit’t-Tacturnly on LEA10. This is going to be one of those occasions when I can give you the same hints I received, and tell you about my experience with the installation, but I can give you no insights or explanation.

I will say this though, I suspect there are triggers here for anybody who has experienced abuse and would advise those individuals to stay away.

Transit’t-Taciturnly by Selavy Oh (moderate)

The sim is almost entirely filled by an endless rainfall of semi-transparent (and usually gigantic) balls. For the first time in my life I started to feel both trapped and completely helpless.

Every time there was some clearing, and I started to relax, my surroundings were consumed again.

Transit’t-Taciturnly by Selavy Oh (moderate)

There is a small area on the edge of the moving landscape with words that seem to relate to children and punishment. The only other clue I saw was in the parcel description:

The moaning and groaning,

The sighing and sobbing,
Are quieted now,

With that horrible throbbing
At heart:
—ah, that horrible,
Horrible throbbing!

(For Annie by EDGAR ALLAN POE)

Transit’t-Taciturnly by Selavy Oh (moderate)

There are two animations provided at the landing spot which may prove to be a way to address the feeling of an overwhelming inability to combat the forces raging against you.

One sets you rolling in somersaults so that you can try to move through the area without being beaten down. The other gives your avatar complete stillness, as if you were ignoring the elements around you.

I found Transit’t Tacturnly to be disturbing, but I’m glad I went. It’s not for everybody though.

Transit’t-Taciturnly by Selavy Oh (moderate)
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on semikolon – something between and commented:
    Someone saw it

    Reply
  2. Thank you for grasping it. Heidi/Mimesis

    Reply
  3. thanks a lot for this! i just want to mention that this really is a collaboration between mimesis and myself: animations and sculptie figures are by mimesis monday, the falling balls, landscape, and the weather are my work.

    Reply
  1. Art & a Trigger Warning in Second Life | Se...
  2. Art & a Trigger Warning in Second Life | Se...
  3. Taciturnly 1st week | semikolon – something between
  4. Four Installations Currently at LEA | The Bergdorf Reports

Leave a Reply

