The Eternal Suspense in Second Life

The Eternal Suspense by Giovanna Cerise (moderate)

Giovanna Cerise’s latest installation is inspired by a theme presented by Friedrich Nietzsche – the dance, the balance, the dichotomy between the Apollonian (harmony) and Dionysian (chaos) aspects of Greek Tragedy.

She applies this theme to the balance we have to achieve everyday – which aspects of our character will be allowed to dominate. The Eternal Suspense is her way of asking if, in fact, we have to choose.

The Eternal Suspense by Giovanna Cerise (moderate)

You should use (what look like) spinning tops you’ll find to teleport between the levels of her installation. The descent from (the perhaps intended) rational, to the extreme vitality of indulgence, is compelling.

An analogy might be the difference between sitting in a law office being thoroughly professional, and the experience on a Florida beach during a school break. There’s lots of room in the middle, but at what point do you cross the line?

The Eternal Suspense by Giovanna Cerise (moderate)

This made me think of another area of balance in our lives, one I’ve had to confront recently and I have (brace yourselves) a new theory. I refer to age – more particularly, our perception of ourselves as young or old.

Those of us who have lived more than 2 or 3 decades can tell you that your brain doesn’t wake up one day and feel old. Oh sure, your body goes through changes (I think all our warranties expire when you turn 30), but inside looking out doesn’t suddenly operate any differently. I might temporarily lose nouns, but that’s just part of my charm. :)

The Eternal Suspense by Giovanna Cerise (moderate)

I’ve recently had some people in their 20s treat me like I’m somehow backward or ignorant. This is the first time I’ve had to deal with that type of thing and it has been baffling to me. I finally decided that they’re doing this because I have some grey hair. They see me as somehow less knowledgeable, less rational, less relevant.

If I had less backbone, and bought into their assessment, I would finally start feeling old. I don’t and I don’t.

So here’s my theory. They say “you’re as young as you feel”, I say you’re as old as you let people treat you. Giovanna postulates that I can decide to embrace all aspects of my psyche – I’ll think about that. I just won’t let anybody else decide if I’m past my best-before date. :)

The Eternal Suspense by Giovanna Cerise (moderate)
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Yet another fascinating piece, Honour! When I was young, I actually Did think that somehow, over time, one morphed into another person when they hit their 50’s and onward. Of course, that idea Had to change as I got older myself and saw the folly in it.

    That being said, there Are many older folks who seem to adopt some form of “old people’s” attitudes, values and philosophies. I think these people were “old” in their 20’s too. There are also those who seem to enjoy playing the age card when it comes to living their lives in their Golden Years. Sure, one’s body begins to fail at about age 50 and gets worse after that (not including all the fitness freaks), but the mind can and Should stay as fresh and active as any 20 year old!!

    “Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing.”
    ― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.

    Reply
  2. I’m not old (though my children would disagree!) – my body is aging, sure, but I’m not old. As for 20-year-olds, their brains are still developing. Mine works just fine, regardless of the color of my hair (which has been grey since before I was 20!).
    My experience has been that they assume I know less because I don’t spend every moment with my smart phone in my face. :-P

    Reply
  3. Now all the time that i read Giovanna i think to speculum and i have to laugh… sorry :)

    Reply
  1. The Eternal Suspense in Second Life | Second Li...
  2. The Eternal Suspense in Second Life - Honour Mc...

Leave a Reply

