Logic & Snow & Second Life

Dawn of Radiance (general)

I finally made it to Silvermoon Fairey’s sim, Dawn of Radiance, this morning. It’s a very pretty landscape and my photos should probably be less edgy, but my journey there was fraught with complications and I wasn’t feeling soft and mellow. :)

The physical world rarely makes sense – emotional tantrums by animals (I have 5 at the moment) are making me a crazy person. My solace, my relief, is in the logic and predictability of this technology which gives me an oasis of sanity in a messy and neurotic world. Well at least it did.

Dawn of Radiance (general)

First of all I suffered from my decision to download the much-talked-about Fitted Mesh Viewer – curiousity being my besetting sin. I discovered, however, when I went back to Project Interesting, that my textures weren’t loading as well as they had.

I try not to have more than one copy of the viewer installed at a time so I removed the Mesh version. I couldn’t logon afterwards – the Viewer got hung up on texture cache and just wouldn’t proceed. I had to uninstall it 3 times, find a hidden texture cache file and delete that, before I could get it to work. All while on my first cup of coffee.

Dawn of Radiance (general)

Viewer issues aren’t new and we’ve all had enough experience with them to just struggle through. My other issue, though, was far more traumatic. I was watching a Youtube video when, suddenly, my mouse and keyboard stopped working and nothing I did would fix it. Nothing.

I got the Tablet and started searching for answers. Most of what I found involved technical wizardry that not only did I not understand, but it all seemed to involve steps which required a working mouse and keyboard. Paradox lives. Then I found something that worked – just don’t ask me why it works. I haven’t the foggiest idea.

Dawn of Radiance (general)

To me, expecting logic in this world of hardware and software, the following solution ranks up there with putting a spoon under your pillow to make it snow. If this problem happens to you try the following anyway.

  • Turn off your machine and unplug it.
  • Press the start button.
  • Wait a minimum of 5 minutes.
  • Press the start button.
  • Plug in the machine and turn it on and start it up.

Your mouse and keyboard might be working again, but I accept no blame if it also starts to snow.

Dawn of Radiance (general)
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. ROFL!
    I suspect that you are a famous comedian trying your jokes on this blog before going live on TV….

    Reply
  2. OMG so funny.. good going, my problems this morning were with WordPress, but after reading your blog, I felt much better. thanks for the chuckle, sorry for your experiences though, I’ll keep my fingers crossed you fixes last.

    Reply
  3. Love that top picture (:

    Reply
  1. Logic & Snow & Second Life | Second Lif...
  2. Logic & Snow & Second Life | Second Lif...

Leave a Reply

