Steampunk Fun in the Second Life Sky

The Station (moderate)

The good news is that today’s destination is wonderful and fun and really quirky. The bad news is that there is SO MUCH going on that I can’t show you even a small percentage of it.

The basics are that The Station↑ is a floating Steampunk City. It’s floating over another “dead” city. Well, why waste time demolishing anything when you can move into the air. Right?

The Station (moderate)

The build up in the sky includes so many different places to explore that I ran out of time. The railroad will take you around, but so will the most bizarre Slingshot teleporter – it deserves a blog post all by itself.

There is an art gallery up in the rafters of a metallic scaffold-type structure that you can wander around for hours. The current exhibit is called Technochory and includes works by Bryn Oh and Sina Souza. They deserve a full post on their own as well.

The Station (moderate)

There is a Club with the most wonderful doors and a Fun Ride I had no intention of attempting. Really! What I did want to do, after wandering around for a while, was go visit the old Dead City on the ground. I just couldn’t immediately figure out how.

In true Intrepid Explorer fashion (OK, I was lazy) I just fell off the edge. I realized once I was on the ground that you can use the balloons, once you’re tired of riding a Zeppelin, the elevator, or you can take the aforementioned Fun Ride.

The Station (moderate)

I got kicked out of the car as I took the Ride and got up close and personal with the Fun part of the experience (and here I thought Halloween was over). There’s more to see and ride on the ground. This place will occupy you for hours. To add to your pleasure at the moment, and encourage you to explore it fully, there’s a special Hunt on til mid-November.

Go visit and do checkout the Slingshot. I want one in my house!

The Station (moderate)
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. What a great idea to have a floating city above an abandoned one! Another site added to my growing list of places to visit.

    Reply
  2. DJ Frenzy

     /  November 6, 2013

    Yay! Was there not long ago and LOVED it! so much to do!

    Reply
  3. Digital dirigibles rock my world!!!

    Reply
  4. Tika.Market

     /  November 6, 2013

    Thank you, I have spent several wonderful hours there now. So much to see, loads to ride, click, watch, snap photos of and . . . I’ve totally yielded to the ‘find another hidden away spot’ theme that seems to have possessed me.

    Reply
  5. I think it was built by SL legend Arcadia Asylum, or rather her 3rd reincarnation as Aley Resident.

    — Chimera Cosmos

    Reply
  1. Steampunk Fun in the Second Life Sky | Second L...
  2. Fall 2013: Duna | The Bergdorf Reports
  3. 2013 Year End Season’s Greetings and Thank You! |

Leave a Reply

