Second Life & The Internet, I’ve Been Doing it Wrong

Enchantment (moderate)

I spent some time wandering around the new, well I guess it’s a market, called Enchantment.  The theme will change every month or so and revolves around a Fairy Tale. You can find out more about the project on their website.

The inaugural Fairy Tale seems to be Sleeping Beauty. You know the young pretty innocent (I think of her as deluded) who winds up in a coma waiting for some hero to save her (so, oblivious to the real world). I felt a little like her this week, the deluded and oblivious bits anyway.

Enchantment (moderate)

I learned from various sources that I’ve been doing this all wrong. First I was informed that my home away from home, Second Life, was created by a company called Linden Lab for “dating”↑. Gack! In more than 6 years inworld I’ve had zero dates – I’m a failure.

I tried responding in the comments but, although they managed to hook up with my Twitter account, I guess they didn’t get my message. It never appeared. It seems I can’t even do that right.

Enchantment (moderate)

Speaking of Twitter, I learned from his wife’s column that Piers Morgan states that The people who get the most out of Twitter…..are a certain type of alpha male for whom it becomes a competition for the greatest number of followers, a competition to score points against each other and to behave effectively like supremely cocky sixth-formers back in the old college room.  I fail on every aspect of this one.

I am not the only deluded/oblivious woman around though. Piers interviewed the loathsome Ann Coulter and asked her about dating preferences. I don’t know why. In any case she took offense and snapped “If you were interviewing Margaret Thatcher, would you ask her that? No, I think not.”  I don’t agree with either of their politics, but really, comparing herself to the former Prime Minister? Bonkers!

Enchantment (moderate)

I did not leap onto the early Bitcoin bandwagon and I didn’t create a website to handle illegal transactions designed to accumulate them. As a result, I’m not in a position to acquire a house with a small portion of my forgotten cache. I guess the good news is that I now have a semi-local ATM where I can buy them. Once I figure out the whole palm-scanning thingie.

I decided to talk to some experts and get their advice on improving my online performance. I’m sure they’ll be very helpful ….. once they sober up.

Enchantment (moderate)
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. boudiccaamatBoudicca

     /  November 2, 2013

    I do so enjoy reading your very posts Honour…….Wonderful pictures and words that can always put a smile on my face.
    Thank you.

    Reply
  2. DJ Frenzy

     /  November 2, 2013

    A site for dating… Hmmmm…. I’m so very glad that digital wizards like the ones who fill the LEA sims break that model apart… Nice post

    Reply
  3. Xi

     /  November 2, 2013

    I think I must have been doing it wrong all this time too.

    Reply
  4. yes, i relate as well. it is always helpful to hear from others – especially those who are not involved with virtual worlds – what these worlds are about and what their users must do. sometimes i’m sure i would be lost without this assistance.

    may i suggest a song to go along with your post? Randy Newman’s “Maybe I’m Doing It Wrong.” i think you’ll like it, Ms McMillan.

    Reply
  5. /me laughs and laughs!

    Reply
  6. Failure being subjective and all …. may I join your failure club please Honour? Because I think I would like to be associated with your brand of failure!!

    Reply
  1. Second Life & The Internet, I've Been Doing...
  2. Second Life & The Internet, I've Been Doing...
  3. Second Life & The Internet, I’ve Been...

Leave a Reply

