Stumbling Around in Second Life

Tudor Rose (general)

One of the downsides to exploring at 5 in the morning is that things can get a little weird. I was all set to do another Halloween-themed sim, but I got really confused and gave up. The coffee started to kick in and I found myself outside an Elizabethan castle.

Tudor Rose (general)

This is the point at which my brain says “Just go with it!”. So I did. I also discovered a sliver of bigotry in my soul.

I found a Tudor-era town and docks and an enormous church. The textures are beautiful and the builds are impressive.

Tudor Rose (general)

I ran into a few brand new residents, one of whom I decided must be an alt. Why? Well because he had a really good AO and seemed to know what he was doing.

This was totally unfair of me, it could just be that friends have helped him with his orientation and avatar.

Tudor Rose (general)

I realized that, as much as people like to help newbies, the truth is that we expect them to go through the hellacious learning curve we all survived. If they appear to sail through quickly and easily we resent it. sigh

This is a lovely town – put it on your list. It’s also a great place to escape the season, if you are so inclined. :)

Tudor Rose (general)
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. DJ Frenzy

     /  October 29, 2013

    The question of over skilled alts haunt me occasionally… As recently as last week a day old person came to one of my gigs, was swapping mesh clothing and jewellery right in front of me like a seasoned pro… Sigh

    Reply
  2. caramia Mizin

     /  October 29, 2013

    Tudor Rose looks like a great sim to explore , thanks Honor.
    As for ‘alts’ the very topic seems to stir mixed feelings in us ‘oldies’ I will be 6 in mid Nov, and still I find the idea of alt’s being up to ‘no good’ yet the ones I have spoken to tell me they used alts professionally for building, vendor , etc. Fair call I say.
    I tend to keep my distance from alt’s

    Reply
  3. Oh, I LOVE the castles and things at Tudor Rose! Thank you, Honour…it’s a gorgeous place – and it makes me want to buy about 100 castles and fly them up in the stratosphere. (Crazy, I know…)
    Havenhollow is such a fun place to visit. I felt like a trick-or-treater out on a cold Hallowe’en night, trekking from house to house, waiting to see what sweet goodies await!
    Yaya!

    Reply
  4. Inara Pey

     /  October 30, 2013

    Whenever I see reference to the “hellacious learning curve” I have to smile. While getting one’s head around the viewer isn’t necessarily easy, is it really that bad? I mean really?

    Is it really that much harder than getting to grips with PhotoShop or Blender, or even the advanced nuances of GIMP?

    I sometimes wonder if we’re not, as established users, somewhat deceived into a bias born of the knowledge we’ve acquried about the the viewer over a period of months or even years. That we see everything we now know as needing to be distilled down to a point where the average newbie can comprehend and absorb it within just a few days or weeks – when really, that’s not at all necessary. Surely, the basics can be taught relatively easily and the rest left to the passage of time and discovery?

    Yes, there are issues in getting started with SL. There are frustrations. But they are hardly insurmountable (God knows, we’re all proof of that). So why do we persist in portraying them so?

    Reply
  5. What timely post this is from my perspective. I just finished watching The White Queen and have been reacquainting myself with Queen Elizabeth I and her ancestors featured in the mini series. I cannot wait to visit Tudor Rose now.

    Reply
  6. Thanks for sharing, I just discovered this sim yesterday and had fun there :D

    Another twist on the “noobs and AOs” thing is when you find someone who has been in SL for years but still looks like a noob (ie. no AO)!

    Reply
  1. Stumbling Around in Second Life | Second Life D...
  2. Stumbling Around in Second Life | Second Life E...
  3. Visiting a Tudor Rose | Living in the Modem World

Leave a Reply

