Chasing Islands in Second Life

Moving Islands (moderate)

I can remember being in class, back in elementary school, and a teacher talking about explorers while showing us the world map. The oceans looked really big to me and I asked her why we couldn’t head out into them and find new places. She told me that “there is nothing left to discover”.

This was not only a demoralizing answer, it was wrong. It’s untrue in any reality, but particularly so in the virtual. Not that it’s always easy, especially for a photographer – sometimes the places you are trying to capture won’t stand still!

Moving Islands (moderate)

Eupalinos Ugajin, who is always on my favourite artists list, has gathered together a large group of talented people to create Moving Islands. Click on the poster at the top to get the full list – they are without exception people whose work I enjoy and admire and love to explore.

Here’s the thing, the Islands are moving. They also have moving components. In fact, getting anything to stand still long enough to try and get a decent image was beyond me. I’d like to have shared more of the wonders in this ocean, I’m just not good enough.

Moving Islands (moderate)

It helps when you’re looking around to take advantage of the sits on the various Islands. It didn’t help me too much because they keep moving.

Maya Paris, for example (who has always been the type of brat who names her installations with words that get me hits from very NSFW search terms), has a gorgeous build which keeps turning upside down, and then there’s the giant pencil I chased for what seemed like hours.

Moving Islands (moderate)

I saw Ziki there, and I’m sure she’ll do a much better job of getting images which will help you understand how wonderful this exhibit is.

I’m heading back, but I’m going to leave my camera at home. Boat Tours are coming, in the meantime I’ll just hop around and let these artists play with my avatar. I’m worn out. :)

Moving Islands (moderate)
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. caramia Mizin

     /  October 21, 2013

    WOW! let me say this again WOW! Your blog on Moving Islands has got me excited Honor, I will be making it my priority to visit tonight :) Love your blogs., the best!

    Reply
  1. Moving Islands | Wurfi's Second Life
  2. Chasing Islands in Second Life | Second Life De...
  3. Chasing Islands in Second Life | Art & Cult...
  4. Chasing Islands in Second Life | Second Life Ex...

Leave a Reply

