Fog & Progress & Second Life

Winter Moon (moderate)

I’m sure it’s true for all regions of the physical grid, but weather tells us in my area when the seasons have really changed.

Autumn doesn’t arrive on a specific date, it emerges from the fog. We get a few days of thick stuff overnight and into the morning, followed by an extended period of time when it doesn’t burn off and the world stays grey.

Winter Moon (moderate)

It seemed appropriate to create a foggy Winter Moon as a backdrop for a post at this time.

Oh I know the stuff causes more accidents, and both air travel and ferry schedules are disrupted, but it’s pretty. It also makes me think of my childhood and the downside to progress.

Winter Moon (moderate)

If you live near the water, as I seem to have for much of my life, then you aren’t surprised to be woken up in the middle of the night by foghorns. When I was young the sound was one of my favourites. I’d try and stay awake as long as I could to enjoy it – a beautiful baritone that seemed friendly and comforting.

Then, in the name of progress, our foghorns were changed.

Winter Moon (moderate)

The diaphone horn was invented in Canada and, although it sounds different in various parts of the globe, the one that worked up and down our coast was wonderful. This is an old video which captures the sound we used to hear.

Today’s horn is tinny, one-note, and soulless. Now when I wake up in the middle of a foggy night I just grumble and try and ignore it. I’m pretty sure somebody in a landlocked area of the country did this to us, the bastards. :)

Winter Moon (moderate)
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. caramia Mizin

     /  October 20, 2013

    The fog horn gave me the shivers, excellent footage and you have a steady hand filming :)

    Reply
  2. lucky (or unlucky) for me I still hear this type of foghorn every foggy morning in the Puget sound. We haven’t been able to see our front neighbors house for about 3 days now its been so thick

    Reply
  3. pepys

     /  October 23, 2013

    I couldn’t get the SLurl to work.

    Reply
    • hmmmmm OK – open your map and type Winter Moon, then teleport. You’ll wind up in the center of the sim, but the water is shallow :)

      Reply
  1. Fog & Progress & Second Life | Second L...
  2. Fog & Progress & Second Life | Second L...

Leave a Reply

