Colour Key & Random Thankfulness in Second Life

Colour Key by Rebeca Bashly (moderate)

It’s Thanksgiving today and I spent part of the morning exploring Rebeca Bashly’s new installation on LEA 6. Colour Key takes you on a journey, one that allows you to define meaning for yourself.

I love her work and this exhibit, while more minimal than some of her others, is beautiful.

Colour Key by Rebeca Bashly (moderate)

It’s in the Life Rule Book somewhere that I had to think about what I’m thankful for. Family  Friends 4 Legged Children …. The third one though made me think of something that happened the other day.

I was cleaning the litter box and discovered that one of my young cats had swallowed a metal twist tie. When I confronted him he said he’d had to, his brother had dared him. sigh

Colour Key by Rebeca Bashly (moderate)

That made me realize that I’m grateful for some age. I’m very thankful not to be that young and stupid. I’m glad the years add perspective and remove the need to react to everything with wild emotional swings and high drama.

Having said that, I’m also truly thankful for the metaverse which hides many of the the variables we use to judge others in the physical world – height, weight, gender, race, physical ability and age.

Colour Key by Rebeca Bashly (moderate)

So, yes, it’s Thanksgiving and, no, I didn’t say Canadian Thanksgiving. I saw a wonderful quote yesterday that said that “winning the War of 1812 means we don’t have to add modifiers to our holidays”.

Looking around at current events, I’m very thankful that the outcome means a lot more than just how we reference our celebrations. On this Thanksgiving, in fact, my gratitude knows no bounds. :)

Colour Key by Rebeca Bashly (moderate)
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Colour Key | Wurfi's Second Life
  2. Colour Key & Random Thankfulness in Second ...
  3. Not a Fairy TaleElle's World | Elle's World Second Life Gorean/Role Playing Fashion Blog

Leave a Reply

