SL10B, The Community Celebration & a Personal Looking Back in Second Life

Looking Back from the DJ Stage (general)

There is a wonderful exhibit by DrFran Babcock which celebrates the Looking Back portion of the Sl10B Community Celebration theme. If you’ve ever known somebody who collects commemorative spoons and plates, the creations will look very familiar to you. In this case, her collectibles highlight people and places that may be gone but are certainly not forgotten (aww Blondin Linden!).

I couldn’t get a photo I thought would do it justice – but you really need to visit the Classy Souvenirs of SL  and grab a copy of everything. Her very clever build, as much as anything at the event, made me think back to some of my own inworld highlights.

The Auditorium (general)

The Auditorium triggered one specific memory. The schedule for this venue is varied and includes many fascinating sessions, but it reminded me of the first time I sat in an audience in Second Life.

I don’t remember the name of it, but a real life symphony orchestra had recreated their physical location on the grid. They invited everybody to attend their opening concert through the magic of technology, and a great number of us got dressed up and went to watch the live performance.  Afterwards, the Conductor & Soloist joined us inworld for a reception. This was the first time I really understood how broad the magic of the virtual was – even more than the ability to build something, I fell in love with the idea of connecting with people and events around the world.

The Imposing Exterior of KT Syakumi’s Amazing DJ Stage (general)

Although I say a great number of us got dressed up – there were a few exceptions. One of which was sitting next to me in a remarkably casual outfit with very strange hair. I wonder whatever happened to Philip Linden.

I’ve had many of those moments since in my virtual journey. I’ve sat in an audience listening to Noam Chomsky’s avatar, attended panel discussions with Government officials from around the world, classes with philosophers, readings by authors, and conferences that made me think. That first experience, though, was a watershed moment.

Minna (general)

The whimsy and the fantastical are well represented at this birthday party. Everywhere you look there is something else to explore and enjoy (and, if you’re me, add to your list of places that need more investigation). However, being reminded of the opportunities for personal growth and acquisition of knowledge was good for me.

I don’t know what’s coming in the future. The past can’t be taken from us, I just hope we build on what’s gone before and create more incredible opportunities. I’ll try to remember to take advantage of them. :)

Pygar Bu’s Crossing over KT Syakumi’s Railway (general)
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. “Using mostly spoons…” is my favorite line in Monsters Inc.

    -ls/cm

    Reply
  2. “…whatever happened to Philip Linden” Yeah, I saw the hair too and wondered.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

