The Sea of Swans in Second Life

Alqualonde, Sea of Swans (moderate)

For fans of Tolkein and/or elves and/or cool builds and/or swans, today’s destination is a 2-sim location called Alqualonde↑. If you’re not familiar with the backstory, or just wish to refresh your memory, there’s a pretty detailed outline on the SL Tolkein Discussion blog↑.

Alqualonde, Sea of Swans (moderate)

I was inspired to go visit when I saw this photo↑ by Kylie Sabra. When I tried to logon I was informed that another new update to the beta viewer was downloading. This is a bit of a pain only because the automated downloads always fail (I think it has something to do with it being stored as an X86 Program file), but I leave them turned on so I know when one is there.

Alqualonde, Sea of Swans (moderate)

Downloading the new update reminded me of this little factoid I saw yesterday – last week 1,665 different viewers↑ logged on to Second Life.  No, there aren’t that many TPVs – but every version of every viewer counts as a different one. Imagine trying to introduce something new, or fix a bug, and attempting to test for all the potential viewers.

Alqualonde, Sea of Swans (moderate)

Now there are many, many people much smarter and knowledgeable than I. One of the loudest immediately proclaimed that they don’t see the issue stemming from people not updating, but concluded that the community is too balkanized and, therefore, things are unmanageable. I would have said that one begets the other – but what do I know?

Most seem to agree that the introduction of server side baking↑ will force most to get rid of the old versions they’re using. Ahhh the angst of change!

Alqualonde, Sea of Swans (moderate)
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Jo

     /  June 8, 2013

    Are the black bands in the pictures above a ” feature” of the new viewer?

    As for the 1600 odd viewers being used — wonder how many people will be forced to give up on SL when their computers can’t handle the new shiny . I saw the video of the third party devs mtg in end May and the inventory amending – wrecking bug scares me to death. What price progress?

    Reply
    • I hope nobody is forced to give up SL just because they’re forced to let go of an ancient viewer. Having said that – I don’t believe that Second Life should avoid improving in order to accomodate 20 year old computers or slow dial-up connections (yes, I’m using hyperbole there). :)

      Reply
    • Inara Pey

       /  June 8, 2013

      The “inventory wrecking” bug only occurs only on very old, non-maintained viewers (AFAIK, it’s only actually been successfully repro’d on Phoenix), and under very limited circumstances, and the Lab is looking into it.

      The way to avoid issues like it is for people to update to a more recent viewer, as Honour states. Most of those being maintained support the new shiny, and those which are being maintained & which don’t current support it soon will. As to the new server-side appearance, that doesn’t actually place any additional load on older hardware, and could arguably improve things.

      Reply
  2. Jo

     /  June 8, 2013

    Oh the black bands were a “feature” of my slow loading — sorry—-

    Reply
  3. Inara Pey

     /  June 8, 2013

    Technically, that’s 1,665 different viewer version strings :).

    I know, I know. I’m being pedantic…

    /me slopes off to drink her hot milk and go to bed.

    Reply
    • Hey! I rely on you to keep me technically accurate – or at least within 87 km of accuracy. :p

      Reply
      • Inara Pey

         /  June 9, 2013

        87 km? Oh bother. /me recalibrates herself in an attempt for greater accuracy

  4. Ok, once we’re on the subject of accuracy; the name of the writer was J.R.R. Tolkien, not Tolkein.

    Reply
  1. The Sea of Swans in Second Life | Second Life D...

Leave a Reply

