Wily Elves & the Wonders of Technology in Second Life

 
Luminarios Divide (adult)

Technology isn’t always a bad thing. Oh sure, sometimes it’s intrusive and tyrannical – but who of us doesn’t have our faults? It helps if common sense is applied- as somebody on Twitter pointed out yesterday, when that AP tweet appeared most of us said “Well, they’ve been hacked”. Wall Street↑ doesn’t spend a lot of time in the twitterverse I guess.

 
Luminarios Divide (adult)

I recently encountered two examples of the benefits offered by the marvels of technical advancements. Inworld there is a land known as Luminarios Divide↑. I won’t go into too much detail here, you can get their history when you arrive.

Imagine though, if your patch of the world started to break apart and fling itself out into the universe.

 
Luminarios Divide (adult)

If you are a wily elf, you too might decide to attach pieces of your countryside with giant chains and balloon-assisted propellers. I can just imagine the meeting where some pointy-eared nerd pointed to a diagram and said “trust me”.

I need to find somebody like that to give me the router settings I have to change to be able to use HTTP Textures, but that’s a different topic.

 
Luminarios Divide (adult)

In the real world my brother, who actually reads this blog (/me waves) is sitting in a hospital bed waiting for a quadruple bypass. He has many of his gadgets with him – although he’s suffering with a tiny 12″ television screen (watching the hockey playoffs on his 57″ behemoth is more his style).

The good news is that because of technology he can chat with our sister on that Facebook thingie and he can skype with his 91 year old mother. We might be only about 20 miles apart but getting her to his hospital is a HUGE production. She can lecture him via pixels just fine (and he can crash if he wants to hangup without seeming rude). I think I’ll get him onto Twitter – at least he’ll be entertained by the insanity of it all.

 
Luminarios Divide (adult)
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Inara Pey

     /  May 4, 2013

    Drat… I’d thought I’d beaten you to this place after getting it recommended to me!

    Really will have to superglue your hiking boots to the prim floor ;-).

    Reply
    • LOLOL I guess I must, once again, apologize. :) My bad!

      Reply
      • Inara Pey

         /  May 5, 2013

        No… you just have better eyes and ears than me for what’s being built out there :).

Leave a Reply

