Sprinting Through Van Gogh’s Countryside in Second Life

 
Torell Nederland (moderate)

Back in September Ricco Saenz did a fabulous post↑ on Virtual Arles, a build which recreated Van Gogh’s surroundings in 1888/89 and some of his works in 3d.

I didn’t have a chance to visit before he noted that the build was gone. Well, he has since updated that post to say it has been reborn on Torell Nederland↑.

 
Torell Nederland (moderate)

I’ve finally made considerable progress on the work I’ve been doing, and I was prepared to spend some time attempting to do this build justice. It’s not like I could compete with Ricco’s work, but it’s so beautiful it deserves a good effort.

I had just taken the first image and there was a 5 minute restart warning. I don’t blame Mudpuddle Cleanslate↑, it wasn’t personal. At least I don’t think it was.

 
Torell Nederland (moderate)

My avatar seems to be evolving towards the more peculiar end of the scale (I replaced my mohawk with a cyborg/rasta topknot) and she doesn’t exactly look natural in this pastoral setting. I’m sure the timing of the restart was just a coincidence and typical of my luck. :)

 
Torell Nederland (moderate)

In any case, this turned into a speed photography session. You’ll find it looks much better than my images.

If walking through Van Gogh’s world isn’t enough, you’ll also find a modern Bauhaus style gallery displaying “poetry, sculptures, paintings and photography”. This is a truly gorgeous creation and a perfect location for a leisurely visit. I’ll try and get back later for a more relaxed experience. :)

 
Torell Nederland (moderate)
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. I’m guessing the region restart was a coincidence. Mudpuddle Cleanslate has been kind, appreciative and friendly in my experience. This is a beautiful build that I like to visit.

    Attitudes from builders are way up there in importance as well as skills, in my opinion.

    Reply
  2. Inara Pey

     /  March 12, 2013

    Thanks to Shug Maitland, I was reminded of this machinima, which seems appropriate here:

    Reply
    • It is and it’s a classic – makes me emotional :) Thank you!

      Reply
      • Inara Pey

         /  March 12, 2013

        I confress, I fight the tears watching it. It’s a brilliant video, which I’d totally lost until Shug pointed me back to it on YT.

      • Me too – I think we all fall in love with SL again when we watch it, and Robbie :)

      • Inara Pey

         /  March 12, 2013

        Absolutely. His videos always have that power :).

      • That’s one of the most beautiful machinimas I’ve ever seen… As Honour says, it’s a classic, amazing!

        And before I forge to say it: thank you again for the mention, Honour, I really get honored (no pun intended)! You know that you photos are amazing, don’t you? I spent time on my pics, working on them – then you go there, and in 5 minutes you take some amazing shots! This is shocking… I love your work!

      • aww *hugs*

  3. slutrix

     /  March 12, 2013

    It looks like a very pretty build; I’m putting it in my “to visit” list.

    Reply
  4. What a wonderful idea and thanks for sharing this place. I have always found it easy to get lost in Van Gogh’s work. This reminds me of a trip I took in RL to Giverny where Monet drew inspiration for his waterlilies and oriental bridges that he had in his own garden. I wonder if there’s an SL reproduction of Giverny out there somewhere…Anyway, I’m really looking forward to getting into my late 1800s finery and leisurely walking the fields of Arles this weekend.

    Reply
  5. Sadly my Van Gogh virtual build of Arles on Torell Nederland is now gone too. I am sorry that so many of you seem to be upset by this for want of a better word. This time it wasn’t myself that took it away but the sim owners for various reasons. I collected up every build I had made there in sections, extremely carefully just in case I feel the need to place it somewhere again but after the 4th time of having to remove it, I doubt very much if I shall be building it again. It causes me too much emotional stress to basically destroy something I have been playing with now for 20 years on several computer platforms. However, I spent one day there and shot gigabytes of footage with a view to creating one of my best machinimas. This movie is now uploaded to youtube for anyone to see. It’s quite long, nearly 16 mins and it’s full HD at 1920 x 1080p. There’s a very touching ending too which kind of snaps the viewer out of virtual reality and into actual reality. It also features one of my songs. One of my friends said this, ‘I almost have no words for that….took my breath away! Absolutely loved it. Very touching. Well done!’ and another, ‘ It is really beautiful. I love the way you have begun with the black and white and then moved to the colour and your song in the middle is just sooo lovely. The whole video is very moving and it is such a shame that the sim is no longer available to wander round. I visited it quite a few times and always seemed to find something there that I hadn’t seen before.’
    Here’s the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZBl_MAHcm_Y
    You might also like to see my other machinimas too, you can find them on my channel, ‘mudpuddleUK’ where I have used Second LIfe as a way of illustrating some songs I wrote when I was just A teenager, many moons ago.

    Reply
  1. Sprinting Through Van Gogh's Countryside in Second Life ... | Second Life and Virtual Worlds | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

