Calm Acceptance In Second Life

Onigashima (moderate)

I’ve long believed that making our way through life involves, in part, creating our own philosophies. I don’t mean, in this instance, moral codes or ethical standards or rules. I’m referring to the way we approach developments in our daily existence.

For example, although I would reject many aspects of Kaizen↑, I do attempt to achieve continuous improvement in various aspects of my behaviour and (modest) skills.

Onigashima (moderate)

One area I still find difficult is calm acceptance. I don’t mean passivity. I use it to refer to the acknowledgement that shit will happen. If I waste time being surprised or, even worse, fight against the cosmic forces seemingly conspiring against me then I can only blame myself for having little energy left to deal with the facts.

So. Fine!

Onigashima (moderate)

I calmly accept that nobody else is going to care how much sleep I need or get. Fine! Bring on your flaky spaniels to add to the household – having a kitten wrapped around my head and clutching my hand for most of the night isn’t going to bother me.

Having the sound of a volkswagen engine (which he insists is a purr) screaming in my head just means that I’ll sleep some other time.

Onigashima (moderate)

Falling into a blank state at my computer won’t be a problem. I’ll just pretend I’m afk, and if I spout garbage in chat then I’m sure it’s code for something profound. Having 6 animals following me around every time I get up is just an opportunity to develop my ability to dodge and weave. Besides, bruises build character.

In my darkest moments, when I’m not feeling terribly calm, I think that just maybe I should be adopting Sun Tzu’s Art of War↑ as my life strategy instead. I can’t remember if it includes a chapter on sleep though. I’ll have to do some research, just as soon as these agents of the galactic conspiracy back off.

Onigashima (moderate)
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Seicher Rae

     /  February 22, 2013

    I look forward to your blog, both for the photos and the editorial content. There was one concept I didn’t understand in this one though. What is sleep? Like you I will consult ancient Chinese texts…

    Reply
  2. There is no chapter on sleep in The Art of War. But I hope for you that your enemies haven’t read Sun Tzu, for he implores his reader to give the enemy no rest if he is taking his ease. I foresee more flaky spaniels.

    Reply
  3. This is slightly beside the point of the story, but I saw the pictures and I had to take some shots of my own.

    IRT Sun Tsu – while there is no chapter on sleep in the art of war, there is much about superior preparation. To me, that includes the practice of strategic and tactical napping.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

