HTTP Textures, Blueberries & Second Life

Mieville Stevenson – Victorian Steampunk Chinatown (moderate)

A couple of things prevented me from blogging as early this morning as I would have liked. The first was my ongoing problem with textures not loading. You see those sails above, they wouldn’t rez.

I don’t mean they rezzed slowly, I mean that after waiting 20 freaking minutes I concluded they just weren’t going to load. I had turned off http textures but it didn’t seem to help.

Mieville Stevenson – Victorian Steampunk Chinatown (moderate)

If I actually managed to get a half decent image from a texture perspective, I then had to deal with the loss of anti-aliasing. To say I was frustrated is an understatement. :)

I finally removed all the sl viewers from my hard drive, cleaned up the registry and started again. I stuck with the latest version of the official viewer and then turned off http textures.

Mieville Stevenson – Victorian Steampunk Chinatown (moderate)

I did a quick plunge into debug settings, but I know I’ve forgotten some of them.

The good news is that things are much improved. These are rushed images, however I can’t blame the lack of quality on texture loading.

Mieville Stevenson – Victorian Steampunk Chinatown (moderate)

The second thing that held me up was a shout from the kitchen. It seems a box of blueberries had spilled on the floor. This would not have been a big deal except the kittens got there first.

I have to go deal with little blue stains from one end of the house to the other. As far as “best cat toy ever”, this option is being taken off the list.

Mieville Stevenson – Victorian Steampunk Chinatown (moderate)
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sometimes when textures don’t rez for me, I find that Editing them (even though I can’t actually edit them) helps force them to rez. Nonetheless, I do have similar problems to the ones you’ve described.

    While the Lab is off inventing the latest “delight the customer” non-sense, the team that deals with fixing issues that “piss-off the customer” must have been cut… darn it! There I go again, ranting. /me kicks herself in the butt

    Reply

Leave a Reply

