The Serenity of No in Second Life

Serenity (moderate)

Today’s quick trip was to a fantasy sim called Serenity (since my visit a reader was informed that it was private, so I’ve removed the link). The nature of the landscape is very apt considering that, for most of us, serenity is not often achieved. :)

Those who have followed this blathering for a while know that when I get deep into projects I tend to make posting a lower priority than usual. Such is the case these days and it bothers me because there’s a lot out there to show you.

Serenity (moderate)

However, I’m not arrogant enough to think that there’s no other source of great destinations on the grid. Just look at the links on my blog roll and you’ll see what I mean.

My idle musings this morning circled around a topic related to this idea that I can’t do everything. There are so many cool opportunities inworld, and so many things I’d like to do, but I know I can’t do them all or do all the ones I want at once.

Serenity (moderate)

It would be all very well for me to decide that I wasn’t going to sleep, but everything we do affects others. I work with teams of great people on these projects. If I overextend then I’ll get behind on my commitments and that affects them.

Learning to say “no” is really a kindness to others. Well and also I really like sleep.

Serenity (moderate)

I’m going to try and schedule time around commitments to get out there to some places that are shouting my name. In the meantime I have to find some outfits for the One Billion Rising in SL↑ video we’re shooting. Those who know me will understand that finding anything in my inventory with a skirt is next to impossible.

In the meantime, if you’d like to get involved in something magical, community projects are amazing. Send me a note inworld and I’ll make sure your free time becomes a much smaller part of your day. :p

Serenity (moderate)
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Peter Stindberg

     /  February 11, 2013

    It is a nice sim – unfortunately it seems to be a private sim as well. When I started exploring it with my friend Iva, a rather surprised pixie made us leave with rather drastic words. Unfortunately, no signage or covenant made it apparent that it was private property.

    Reply
  2. Misty

     /  February 11, 2013

    i have no problem with people visiting my sim it is open for a reason but finding two people using your bed is not pleasant and its just plain rude. Anyone with common curtesey is more than welcome anytime.

    Reply
  3. kellee

     /  February 11, 2013

    if you want to use a bed,.. then maybe you should get your own? js its not very nice for people have to walk into their bedroom (which i might add is not on ground level) to find you using all her poseballs. thats just not nice!

    Reply
  4. kellee

     /  February 11, 2013

    hi5

    Reply
  5. Hehe. My wife told me the story when I returned home today. Apparently Misty came home to two strangers making out in our bedroom, on our bed, and asked them to leave and was understandably upset. Serenity is of course welcome to visitors, but keep in mind it is also our home. Consider it a look but do not touch policy on anything of a personal nature. We went through great effort to make plenty of public areas (some including romantic scenes for partners) all over the sim. Please respect our hospitality and be courteous when visiting Serenity, and perhaps we will be kind enough to show you the harder to reach areas that Honour missed in her visit. :) PS: Honour, you did an amazing job in your photos of our sim and you’re more than welcome back any time you would like a more in depth tour. IM me in world @ Caleb Fiertze

    Reply
    • Peter Stindberg

       /  February 12, 2013

      For the record: we did NOT make out on the bed! We were in a standing-kissing-pose outside of the bed and of course fully clothed.

      It was, in no way, visible that this was private property. No covenant, no warning signs, no banlines, no name tags, no info-givers. You often find poseballs – even intimate ones – rezzed in public sims, so not even the presence of poseballs was a hint it was private property. Even things like doors and elevators were open to access by anybody – not limited to a group or even specific persons.

      Iva and I have been around since 2006 and we have explored countless sims – many of them advertised in this very blog. A mishap like this is the first to ever happen to us in all those 7 years. I think a little perspective and calming down would do this conversation some good.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

