Enabling Fantasy in Second Life

Cerridwen’s Cauldron (moderate)

Fantasy landscapes are favourites for many in Second Life. When they are done well they can provide an inspiring backdrop for roleplay, or simply escape, and they can be stunningly beautiful.

I don’t dwell on shops or shopping in this blog – I avoid the activity as much as possible and you’re supposed to write about what you know. :)

Cerridwen’s Cauldron (moderate)

I do, however, see a lot of places and even I can recognize works by Elicio Ember↑, the creator behind Cerridwen’s Cauldron↑. I went to his home sim today because in his new blog↑ he says he’s going to completely redesign the island.

If you haven’t seen it in this state it’s worth your time exploring before he does a dramatic reinvention.

Cerridwen’s Cauldron (moderate)

His store is actually floating high in the air↑ above this magical world, the links in the photo captions will take you to sea level.

I admit that I love his work because, even though you will find the standard components, – crystals and mushrooms for example – there is nothing overly precious about his designs. It doesn’t feel like a diabetic coma is imminent, if you know what I mean.

Cerridwen’s Cauldron (moderate)

I did not, whatever you might think, go all photo-bitch on this trip. I’ve used the region settings although I did adjust time of day, east angle and (for a time) the amount of mist. The colours are his. Really!

Before you leave, make sure you head into the underground cavern. You’ll find lots to populate your fantasies. Just keep their contents to yourself, I really don’t need to know the details.

Cerridwen’s Cauldron (moderate)
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. The Cauldron is always an amazing place to visit. Elicio’s constructs are essential to any fantasy landcrafter.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for sharing the Slurl to this lovely, lovely build. I am sorry it will be gone but look forward with great anticipation to what Elicio Ember will do next.

    Reply
  3. One more thing I want to say – a visit to the shop is VERY well worth a bit of time. I bought what I thought was one statute. In reality there are about 15 different items in the box, all for a very reasonable price.

    My only regret is I somehow missed this wonderful creator/.sim/store before.

    Reply
  4. Inara Pey

     /  January 6, 2013

    Thanks for covering the Cauldron :).

    I’ve only one thing to add: Elicio has one of the kindest, most generous hearts I’ve ever encountered in SL; I think this is very much reflected in his work and creations. I’m genuinely privileged to be able to call him a friend.

    Reply
  1. Prim Perfect Jigsaw: Lush, lovely and now on the web – Cerridwen’s Cauldron « Prim Perfect

Leave a Reply

