A Cup of Kindness for Second Life

For this last post of the year I’m revisiting a few of my favourite photos from the past 12 months, it seems fitting when I’m looking back at the year and wallowing in memories.

There are a lot of happy ones, but on this day sadness is always dominant for me. This probably explains why the ones I’ve chosen are a little moody.

Cadenza (general)

We and our world lose good people and good friends every year. It’s inevitable, but that doesn’t make it easier. Some leave us to pursue new lives in non-virtual spaces. To them I say “I told you so!”, and for them (and you) I share an old Irish blessing (which I consider secular *grin*):

May love and laughter light your days,
and warm your heart and home.
May good and faithful friends be yours,
wherever you may roam.
May peace and plenty bless your world
with joy that long endures.
May all life’s passing seasons
bring the best to you and yours!

Roche (moderate)

Again this year brought the death of some we loved and admired. They’ve left an empty place where there was once laughter and challenge and even arguments. I miss my lost friends and, very selfishly, wish time would bloody well stand still at those moments when they are with us, and we could hang on to them.

This annual toast is particularly difficult at the end of 2012, but is very heartfelt.

So, Let’s raise a glass to absent friends,
For every road must end,
You’ll always be there in our hearts,
Our special absent friends.

Sleepless Nights (moderate)

It’s worth remembering tonight that what we have now may not be what we have in a year; looking around and appreciating what we often take for granted. All of you are important in my life and I thank you for that!

Our lives will change in 2013. I hope for all of us that the next 12 months brings us more – more friendship and love and good health and prosperity. However, this is a moment to look back.

If I was terribly clever I’d have a video of my memories and those who left. I’m not, so I’ll leave you with the traditional song from this night. I think Robbie Burns would be surprised to know that something he wrote in 1788 is part of today’s traditions, but he’d also be pleased. This is Dougie Maclean’s version with lyrics so that, for once, we can all understand and mean what we are singing.  I wish you all a Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Kindness?
    Blech.

    -ls/cm

    Reply
  1. Prim Perfect Jigsaw: A New Year with Reflections « Prim Perfect

Leave a Reply

