You are the Music in Second Life

For most of us, there is only the unattended
Moment, the moment in and out of time,
The distraction fit, lost in a shaft of sunlight,
The wild thyme unseen, or the winter lightning
Or the waterfall, or music heard so deeply
That it is not heard at all, but you are the music
While the music lasts.

T.S. Eliot, The Dry Salvages

I thought I knew what I was going to talk about today. Well, to be completely honest, I did know … I had it all planned in my head. Then I went to Eupa’s↑ latest exhibit↑ and my thoughts went off on a completely different tangent and resulted in the following nonsense.

Whiskey had a bit of a rant↑ the other day about gratitude and, while I agree with her, I have a slightly different take on the subject and this installation does a better job than I will of trying to articulate it.

I am grateful for gifts and favours and friendship and more, I just don’t react well when what I feel or express doesn’t seem to be enough. I don’t like feeling as if I’m inadequate or, maybe, the sense that an obligation is demanded. There’s probably some hidden memory in my subconscious of a traumatic incident where I was found wanting in spite of my genuine appreciation.

I’d like to believe that I’m more positive about life and our place/purpose than T.S. Eliot. The poem↑ from which the title of this work stems is a pretty depressing work (to me, anyway) although it is the more optimistic of the Quartet.

In a general sense, I can agree with Eliot that there’s an awful lot about life that is, well, less than optimal. I’m certainly not living my ideal but there are bright spots. The idea that everyday existence nevertheless contains moments of only half-noticed grace is one to which I not only ascribe, but it’s what keeps me going.

Eupa’s work looks very minimal, but it is full of details that deserve attention. Clicking and sitting on things brings surprise and delight. Even if I didn’t love his textures and objects and design (which I do) – his humour and his cows would bring me the type of pleasure I hope for everyday. Small things that give me a glimpse of the joy I don’t see as often as I would wish.

The music never lasts very long, but I’m grateful for those moments that might mean very little to anybody else. Life can suck big time. Go play with Eupa’s cows – they will give you a reason to smile.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Thanks Honour :) The latest projectile added to the catapult is: http://www.flickr.com/photos/eupalinos/8236286248/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

