Birth of Mecha in Second Life

It really doesn’t matter how often it happens, I hate being stupidly obtuse. This is going to be one of those posts where I really don’t know much of anything.

It will all become clear on December 21, 2012. I think.

A while back I told you about an installation called Limina↑. I enjoyed it, but I didn’t know the story or understand a lot of what was going on. Still, I loved the build and the obvious amount of imagination and thought that went into its design and creation.

I still don’t know the story, but I can tell you that its prologue is being filmed on LEA29↑. It’s a world and it’s a machinima set. There is a trailer↑ – as a tease it’s very successful. As an explanation … not so much.

Update: Here’s↑ an additional source of some information and clarification on participants’ responsibilities.

Full of colour and texture and extraordinary constructs and mechanical beings, this is a complex landscape born in the minds and imaginations of talented artists.

When you land you pick up a cool HUD that provides access to music and information and video (all where appropriate). Then you ride one of those giant bugs I saw in April down to the surface.

I might get this wrong, but I think  Whatduh Freck↑ is still the builder, with the construction/scripting/music aid of  RL sound artist Tony↑ and Xineohp Guisse↑ (who may or may not be Wardi, somebody who is also mentioned). There is more information available on the Sononovo site↑ (which I think is Tony’s). They were having server issues as I write this so I can’t tell you what you might learn there. :)

Update 2: OK Wardi has clarified the personnel :) Whatduh Frek = Xineohp = Wardi, Tony is Tony.

I can tell you that I found a type of assembly line – part of which was named “neural network”. It involves some interesting mech beings doing something.

I think you should go explore this strange world↑, just don’t take any mind altering drugs before you visit. This place is built extremely well and will give you enough to handle without augmentation. That much I do know.:)

In the meantime, I will tell you that the mech constructs are gorgeous. I don’t know what they’re called but, frankly, I named them “rat bastards” after chasing them around for ages. They will not stand still and move very quickly. So as a close up this sucks, but it’s the best I could do.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Really fantastic! We have something less elaborate, but still pretty enthralling on OpenSim called New Genres Grid, where the Alpha Auer, MaxMosHax, Selavy Oh, posse keep some of their outrageously large film sets and spare museums. No fancy HUDs, but you can score a wristwatch and funky rubber body suit.

    Reply
  2. “I enjoyed it, but I didn’t know the story or understand a lot of what was going on.”

    Here is a short explanation from early 2012:
    >> Limina – Coming Soon

    It’s a story about the fight between organic and mechanical beings. With “Birth of Mecha” they go back in time and show what happened before the part we saw last spring on LEA18.

    The trailer, which you linked, is only a summary of scenes from their first installation. Maybe they haven’t created a new video so far. But the current installation at LEA 29 is great!

    Reply
  3. Hello and a BIG thank you for a wonderful review!! I’m very pleased you have enjoyed your visit to both installations of Limina and its on-going story :-)

    Just to shed some light on builders/scriptors/music/whatnots (btw, we are a little behind on the build due to RL commitments…. ooooppps!!)

    RL Tony => SL Tony Sononovo => Orga build => Music & Original Soundtrack => sononovo.com
    RL Wardi => SL Xineohp Guisse => SL WhatDuh Freck aka Xineohp’s crash test dummy => Mecha build => LSL scripting & HUD development
    16MillionPixels.com => Tony & Wardi

    @Maddy We have a few more “zones” coming up and new machinimas too!! But RL commitments have put us back in building/developments. We should be on track… just.. about.. now?? lol

    @virtualchristine IM me inworld.. I have a pair of funky rubber boots to share :-P

    Once again.. Thanks for a brilliant post.

    xx

    Reply
    • Thank you for clarifying the personnel – I’ll update the post. I’m so grateful you didn’t bash me for being a dolt! And I love the build/world/atmosphere :)

      Reply
      • Being a dolt ?!! Welcome to my world.. hhehehe.. btw, love the fact you called it “rat bastards”!!! Did you take a ride on the bollocks-thingey-with-the-rooty-thingey-at-the-bottom? Or get to the top of the tower-thingey and get “compressed” in the pod-chairs?… **inserted shameless plug for build** lol

      • /me blushes – was too busy chasing the rat bastard :P

      • btw (yet another shameless plug for the build).. ROFL.. if you go on aerial view, the “neoral pathways” actually charts a “orga” constellation (which we are hoping to incorporate into the next chapter) ..

        oh… and just saw your update.. HAHHAH.. opppssie… Whatduh Freck and Xineohp is Wardi (the mecha) .. Soorry I’m schizo like that.. ROFL .. Tony is Orga is Tony Sononovo

        hehhe

      • sigh – apparently I need a map :P I’ll fix it!

      • You and me both!! I get lost in my own builds.. I blame that WhatDuh Freck!! ROFL

  4. Thanks for your great post – you have a wonderful blog! : ) The upside of the LEA grants is that you get a lot of feedback on your work while it is in progress. The downside: your work is open to the public whether or not it is ready. LOL I am sure the story will be clarified just as soon as we figure it out ourselves hahahhahahah

    Reply
    • It’s a great build – I try not to post before the installation is ready but sometimes it’s hard to tell. I’ve been haunting your creation and decided to go ahead when the forced landing spot appeared and the bug taxis :P

      Reply

Leave a Reply

