My How Things Have Changed in Second Life

Tryst (adult)

The residents who have been around for, what seems like, a very long time might relate to my experience this morning. It was one of those occasions where I landed somewhere and wound up reminiscing about the “old days”.

The world has changed. The newer arrivals are missing out on some of the iconic moments we all treasure.

Tryst (adult)

I’m not talking about sim crossings that left you with your hair sticking out of your butt, although I have fond memories of those times. I’m referring to the days when young avatar couples would fly around the grid looking for accessible pose balls that would allow them to consummate their new, forever, love.

Tryst (adult)

I still get a thrill from the memory of arriving home to discover a giddy young pair of lovebirds hopping from my bed to my couch just hoping for the right animations. Then there was a time I found the modern Tristan & Isolde in a friend’s store taking full advantage of one of his sale beds.

It was a rite of passage – the search, the discovery, the risk, and of course, great reward (although in the latter case the guy left his shoes on which didn’t seem very romantic to me).

Tryst (adult)

Today they can just go to Tryst↑. The creator of this adult sim is quite self-deprecating about the build but I don’t think that’s the point. This is a place for lovers to do what they used to do in our skyboxes – hidden caves, romantic waves, and lots & lots of pose balls. There’s one couch with 96 different cuddle poses and I won’t tell you about the “enjoy him/her” options in the secret grotto.

Where’s the challenge? Where’s the foreplay and frustration involved in the search? It was like a perverted orientation, getting to practice flying and teleporting and clicking on objects. Sims like this are just spoiling you young people.  :)

Tryst (adult)
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. git offa my lawn, ya whippersnappers

    Reply
  2. Um, I’m not hopping on the blue ball. Sorry, hon.

    -ls/cm

    Reply
  3. This is delightful! There’s much I miss about the old days. There’s a permeating cynicism and uppity attitude now that I swear did not exist in 2007.

    Reply
  4. In these enlightened days quality poses are now in little sculpty hearts so as to not offend the sensibilities of us lesbians. Ahhh! Progress!!

    Reply
  5. Oh, yes the good old days :-)

    Reply
  6. Lacewing

     /  October 20, 2012

    “I still get a thrill from the memory of arriving home to discover a giddy young pair of lovebirds hopping from my bed to my couch just hoping for the right animations” – thanks! Once I became a S/L “householder” I had pangs of guilt about all those intrusions :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

