Indulging the Texture Whore in Second Life

Twisted Thorn (general)

I haven’t been “myself” lately. Whatever the reason for its presence, I’m sure the funk will pass eventually but if I seem exceptionally quiet, grumpy or opinionated this is probably the reason.

I decided this morning to try and improve my mood by indulging the part of me that is the “texture whore” and made a return visit to Twisted Thorn↑.

Twisted Thorn (general)

A group of “texture artists” are on display here and their works (and other wares) are for sale. What I love most about the region though is the demonstration of the effectiveness  of using great textures and applying them well.

Let’s assume for the moment that I am a responsible resident and accept the impact of too many and too large textures on lag, blah blah blah. Fine – don’t be a bad builder. But if you take the conventional wisdom (which I’m sure is correct) too literally the build suffers.

Twisted Thorn (general)

Until Second Life I didn’t think of myself as a “visual” person.  I now know how wrong I was – a great texture will captivate me, I feel like I can fall into it. However, something that seems like it was an afterthought can ruin my appreciation for what might be a fantastic creation.

Applying the texture is also as much an art as creating it or the object it enhances.  Those who pay attention to the detail, who spend time on repeats and alignment, who don’t just apply it to one surface thinking the others won’t be seen (unless you are an exceptional builder I do notice the plywood at the joints), make magic.

Twisted Thorn (general)

I’ve said before that I shorten my view distance right down before I teleport somewhere. Those first few textures I see give me a sense of how the creator works and their attention to detail. It’s a good feeling when I find myself smiling and moving slowly from one thing to another because of the beauty, clarity and sense that the textures are part of the design.

Besides, it’s a lot easier to try and take pretty or interesting photos if the image itself is compelling. Particularly if I’m in a “mood”. :)

Twisted Thorn (general)

Q8QEYEFYYPZW

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

