Spirit Soars in Second Life

Spirit (moderate)

Where the spirit does not work with the hand, there is no art.   Leonardo da Vinci

You’ve probably already seen a lot of photos and read a huge number of words about Claudia222 Jewell’s↑ new exhibit at Art Screamers↑ and it only opened yesterday.  I hope you’re paying attention because this is one of those times where “everybody” is right – you must go experience this installation.

Around the beginning of June last year Claudia and I were getting ready for SL8B and she mentioned that she planned to take a short break and learn mesh.  A couple of months later I received an exquisite mesh dragon as a gift from this artist – damn that woman.  Not only did she “learn mesh” in a ridiculously short period of time, she mastered it.  The proof is Spirit↑.

Spirit (moderate)

I have to admit I dragged my virtual feet a bit when it came to venturing onto the sim.  I had missed the preview and the entire opening day never seemed to have less than 35 people on the island (it was in the destination guide before it even opened).  If you’re planning to take photos and want to avoid lag it’s a lot easier to “do your thing” if there’s nobody else there.  I finally decided to at least look around and teleported in.  There was no problem.  In fact, I managed to take some large format, high res photos without crashing (of course I still have some scratch removal to do).

Claudia told me they’d had a number of visits from Lindens and that she got a message that one of them had moved the sim to a new server to reduce the impact of a high number of avatars and improve their experience.  It seems to have worked so don’t be afraid to join the crowd.  I saw no bitching or moaning in chat, just expressions of joy and wonder.

Spirit (moderate)

One of the things I love about Claudia’s work is that she learns new skills, like mesh, but keeps her aesthetic.  There doesn’t seem to be any compromise required whatever medium she is using. Her work is a wonderful result of both talent and skill.

This is beautiful exhibit – the details are extraordinary. I spent a lot of time camming in close and you find more and more to admire the closer you look.  Of course she has this sort of quirky need to portray what might be horrific if found in your dreams, but she stills makes it positive.

Spirit (moderate)

Claudia has designed the installation to be viewed in the standard daylight settings (I had her permission to play with windlight so no accusations of “photo bitch” thank you) because she didn’t want visitors to have to fuss with windlight.  I think it’s amazing in whatever light you choose. Oh and make sure you get your free mesh avatar near the landing spot – it’s a great way to take part of this art home with you.

One last note.  There is this large, attractive tree covered in flowers.  You might notice movement in one of those blooms and if you look closely you’ll find it’s chewing on a foot.  I said to her that she was the only person I knew who could make a carnivorous  tree look beautiful.  “Well,” she said, “the man was very ugly.”  :)

Spirit (moderate)
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for your great review! As always, your photos are lovely.

    Even with over 50 avatars in the sim during the opening the lag was minimal. I wonder if this is in part due to the use of mesh as opposed to prims? I don’t know. I am just glad there is so little lag.

    Reply
  2. Cate Storymoon

     /  February 16, 2012

    Blown away!
    Oh, I found the foot!!! Was like a sort of “Alas, poor Yorick! I knew him, Horatio” moment.

    EEEk! Waxing bard-ish before 7am! A portend? Awfully early for Will in my ear, me thinks.

    =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

