Steampunk & Job Security in Second Life

Mieville Kipling (moderate)

I don’t think I’ve blogged anything steampunk for a while so it was time and I indulged myself by visiting just a couple of the 10 sims in the Mieville group.  If I’ve messed up the captions in the photos I apologize.  It’s one of the downsides of setting your view distance high and camming around,  you lose track of the region you’re looking at. :)

There is a lot of exploring to do in this large community, lots of shops and devices and great textures.  You can also live there if you’re so inclined.

Mieville Kipling (moderate)

I had planned to blog yesterday but three things wound up occupying most of my time.  The first was the requirement that I master “port forwarding” on this shiny new monster of a router I have.  I don’t understand why things are made this complicated – I’m a user not a computer engineer and I don’t think I should have to have 10 years experience in wiring and programming just to talk to this infernal machine.

A steampunk internet might force me to flick switches or hit a button but surely it wouldn’t require an extensive period of time defining and (in some cases) redirecting ports.  It must be a form of job security for techies.  Even the most entrenched hardware/software builder can’t possibly think the entire population wants to speak their language.

Mieville Kipling (moderate)

The second thing which took up time was the new fangled tv remote.   Oh I can work it – usually.  I suspect I’m missing some of the cool things it might be able to do but I don’t like keyboard shortcuts on here so I’m not about to try combining buttons on that thing.  However, in order to be able to use it I have to be able to find it.  My 90 year old mother announced that it was missing and, of course, it’s my job to track it down.

Here’s a tip in case you ever find yourself in this situation.  Learn to think like a 90 year old.  Logic takes on an entirely new meaning.  It’s perfectly obvious that the remote will be found in the junk drawer in the laundry room and I don’t know why you’d believe any differently.

Mieville Wells (moderate)

The remainder of my day (apart from the short period I rested and tried deep breathing exercises to reduce the stress) was the arrival on the sim of two breeding pairs of meeroos (thanks to Diana Renoir↑).  Yep, I avoided breedables for years and now have horses and meeroos.

My long, slow descent into the abyss has now taken on the speed and momentum of a locomotive (steam of course).  So far, at least, they don’t seem to require any port forwarding.

Mieville Wells (moderate)
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Stephen Venkman

     /  February 9, 2012

    You have horses now? I’m moving many horses to green pastures. If you are looking for something specific or just want to come and look at my stock. Let me know. I’ll give you a couple.

    Reply
  2. Dividni Shostakovich

     /  February 9, 2012

    Maybe putting the TV remote in the junk drawer in the laundry room was a quality control statement :-D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

