Shadowed Beauty in Second Life

I’ve had a wonderful two days on the grid from a photographer’s point of view.  There are some exceptional builds inworld and I’ll be sharing many in the near future – of course the one I want to talk about today was subject to sim restarts so my trip was rushed and I’ll have to complete the journey later today.

There is a lot to see at MIC↑ at the moment (as usual).  I managed to race through Nessuno Myoo’s Tales in the Shadow↑ which is not what this installation deserves.  The subject of classic horror is rendered with great beauty and detail and you will want to linger and explore these tributes to some of the greats in fiction.

Nessuno↑ has chosen four Tales to explore in vignettes created solely from prims (no sculpties or mesh) – that might not seem significant until you look closely at the intricacy of each.  Included are his tributes to:

The Pit and the Pendulum by Edgar Allan Poe
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley;
The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson;
Dracula by Bram Stoker

As somebody who loves this artist’s work, enjoys the art that is available inworld and loses all sense of time when that art lends itself to attempting great images – this is an installation that appeals to me on all levels.

I admit I’m not a huge fan of the horror genre but even I appreciate the classics and this interpretation of the works is stunning.

I would have waited to post until I’d completed my explorations but I suspect that will take hours and I didn’t want to wait another day to recommend you go visit.  I’ll try and complete my journey through the rest of what’s offered at MIC this month and share that tomorrow – assuming I have any control over what happens for the rest of the day. :)

In the meantime, this video↑  does a fantastic job of compensating for my all too brief description of this exhibit (I swear restarts follow me around the grid).

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The Labyrinth of Absurdity in Second Life « Honour's Post Menopausal View (of Second Life)

Leave a Reply

