I Hear it’s Boring in Second Life

Elf Forest (adult)

I keep hearing how boring it is in Second Life.  There’s nothing to do or you have to spend a lot of money to make things interesting.  Apparently I’m visiting a parallel metaverse.  Let me briefly summarize the first 90 minutes of my grid day.

I’m just a lowly explorer but when I logged in I had both an invitation to a “pig parade” and to be an extra in some film that will be shown at a big thing in South America.  I checked on the newest foal and tried to clean up the mess a monkey left on my dock (they are such brats!).

Those invitations I mentioned came as a result of meeting people when I was out looking at things or attending events.  The monkey is my punishment for adopting “the son I’ll never have” and I’m pretty much stuck with him.    Meeting people and seeing cool things requires a bit of effort.  You take your index finger and click to teleport somewhere out of that mall or your sky box.  I promise that if you practice you’ll get enough strength in the digit to make it effortless.

When I embarked on my explorations today I went from a cartoon forest through a dream into the surreal and finished in a completely different view of wooded bliss.

The “cartoon” (and yes that’s my description not theirs) Elf Forest↑ is an adult playground for pretty much everybody.  They invite goreans, bloodlines, nekos and any other subculture they can fit in their keyword list to visit and roleplay if so desired.  You could meet a lot of different people with varied interests in this one spot – I encountered some elves doing a circle dance.  I didn’t stay there long because I had promised myself to go see the progress on one of the LEA sims.

LEA25 is hosting two different artists (both of whom deserve dedicated articles but are being used to make my point in this one, sorry!)  at the moment.  Secret Rage↑ invites you to teleport through a series of images and the creation/evolution/initiation of the dream.  The movement and colour and range of the dreamscapes is impressive and mesmerizing.

On the other side of the region, Charlotte Bartlett↑ reports on her “Journey” into this virtual life and does it with equally talented but far different creations.  I started in a surreal vignette which involved the contents of her purse and moved through the almost blank canvas the grid provides newcomers.  I wound up in a fully formed scene with life and joy and a forest totally unlike the one where I began my trip.

If you find Second Life boring then I suggest you look in a mirror.  Consider the possibility that you are one of those individuals who might be waiting for life to come to them.  In that case you have two choices – continue sitting there whining while others enjoy what is available or get off your pixel butt and take advantage of the opportunities that fill this world.  If you choose the latter you will meet some amazing people and see some glorious sights and all of your lives will become richer.

None of us has entered Second Life with a complete social network or list of favourite landmarks.  We create them as we go – you must do the same.  Believe me when I tell you that it took me a while to climb out of my shell and venture into what seemed like a realm where everybody else knew each other and what was going on.   I soon learned that we’re all on the same footing and, if you start with your known interests, your horizons will expand until you can’t possibly keep up with everything you want to do.  Just don’t tell me the place is boring!    Now if you will excuse me I have a pig parade to prepare for. :)

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. “If you find Second Life boring then I suggest you look in a mirror.”

    But Linden Lab’s been pushing vampire roleplay heavily… and they won’t see anything in the mirror!

    -ls/cm

    Reply
  2. Stephen Venkman

     /  January 12, 2012

    I believe he was born difficult. But I would agree with him. I don’t get “bored” people when there is so much to do in sl or rl anyway. Engaging in your enviornment takes some effort, but as you put it Honour a click of the mouse is usually how it starts.

    Reply
  3. Lyrilen Moonshadow

     /  January 12, 2012

    Some AMAZING photos there Honour! Always enjoyable – thank you.

    Reply
  4. The recent remodeling of the Isle of Lesbos has been getting a lot of compliments, but each time I talk to someone about it I can’t help but mention many of the other beautiful and interesting places in Second Life (often citing your blog, Honour). Its not often I keep landmarks, but I have a couple themed folders full of them just to pass along. Second Life isn’t interesting? How dull must that person’s Real Life be if they feel that way?

    Reply
    • Your work on the Isle of Lesbos (at least from your photos) is stunning as always :) And it’s so hard to believe somebody managed to get naked pics of you *grin*

      Reply
  5. Well… even that tree in the first image is bored. ;)

    I dunno though… just send em to Zindra, they won’t be bored then… :D

    Reply
  6. I find SL to be quite boring, without obvious things to do, or even inobvious ones, these days. I avoid saying it too much, because there undoubtedly are people doing interesting things in SL that I am just not aware of, and I wouldn’t want to give the wrong impression of the grid. But I tend not to bother going there.

    Reply
  7. Iso Hax

     /  April 21, 2012

    It’s not that it’s boring, but that it’s a complete waste of your life. Seriously. Add up everything you’ve spent and given to the Linden’s who promote Online Gamine Addictive Behaviors. Does it make it feel better for yourself? Maybe, maybe not. But really, why are you making a bunch of people in Silicon Valley wealthy while your conception of reality shrinks to the size of a small rectangle. I know it’s all fun and games, but is it?

    Reply
  8. Dillz

     /  July 2, 2013

    I also find SL oh so very boring now too.

    The majority of people there seem boring. Most of the people are socially awkward misfits who either don’t like talking to strangers or just afk a whole lot. (I wonder why)

    There’s nothing to do there that’s really pleasurable at all for the most time. The majority of activities seem stale after a while and lack any true entertainment value.

    As for the creative side of things, you might as well put your creativity into something outside of SL so that you may get more out of it that you can actually use in your life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

