Wishing You Whatever You Hope For!

Footloose (moderate)

I know we all celebrate  different things at this time of year but we share the idea of “celebrating” in common.  For me it’s a time to experience the love of all I can gather around me.  It’s also that time of year I can fully indulge my passion for cooking.

My menu for the feast has evolved over time and represents much effort in trying to keep everybody happy. :)  I’ll spend the next two days preparing a giant meal and trying not to trip over all the dogs that apparently need to spend the holiday in my kitchen.  For those who just have to know my feast will include:

Roast Turkey

Sage & Onion Stuffing

Giblet Gravy

Yorkshire Pudding

Mashed Potatoes

Sweet Potatoes

Peas

Mushrooms with Pine Nuts

Sweet & Sour Red Cabbage

Caramelized Brussel Sprouts with Pearl Onions

Homemade Cranberry Sauce

There’s never enough stuffing so I’ll make a sausage/sage/onion dressing as well and if you’ve never tried yorkshire pudding with turkey you really must.  Make the batter at least 24 hours in advance and use bacon fat – your guests will love you.

I wish you and yours much warmth and love and laughter and I’m very glad you’re all part of my world.  I’ll see you again once the insatiable army has left and I’ve recovered.

Footloose (moderate)
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. That’s the nice thing this time of the year, to celebrate with people you love. And cooking for them is to give them love. I made a cake (and i confess it burned only a tiny bit), but is made with all my love.
    Thanks for sharing this.
    Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  2. Huggs, Honour! Happy Christmas to you and your family. We are going to pretend we are Jewish this year and go to a Chinese restaurant. This will be the first Christmas I haven’t cooked for in over a decade.

    Reply
    • Oh at this point that sounds good! Order extra for me and give yourself a huge hug from this side of the continent :) I wish you and yours all the best!

      Reply
  3. Merry Christmas to you and Happy New Year as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

