On the Trail of the Wild Irish Puffin in Second Life

With my distaste for “cold” you wouldn’t imagine I’d voluntarily head to the North Atlantic at this time of year – but being an Intrepid Explorer means often having to sacrifice personal comfort on behalf of those relying on my adventures.  In this case I was on the search for the elusive Wild Irish Puffin.

Oh I had heard rumours of their existence and I had planned someday to satisfy my yearning for a sight of these wonderous creatures but I would have chosen a  month requiring less clothing layers.  That is until I saw this photo↑ by Annie Klavenham proving once and for all that they are out there on the grid.

My need to finally see these birds in person led me to Oilean ina n-aonar↑ .  The winter sun cannot compensate for the frigid temperature of the water or the chilling mist that penetrates any protection your heavy jacket might provide, but we’re talking Puffins here and some things are worth this kind of suffering.

There is a hardy soul busy constructing homes and infrastructure on this lonely outpost – they must be younger than I with blood not as thin.

The region looks like images from  a John Henry Campbell↑ painting and the soundtrack of Irish folk music puts you in the spirit of this part of the world.  However, I was on a mission and I was determined to succeed.

I blinded myself to the bucolic beauty and spent no time listening intently to the words of these old songs (well almost no time).  Instead I trudged up and down hills and along ancient stone roads seeking my “treasure”.  At last, in the distance, I saw the silhouettes of birds in flight.  I had found the fabled Puffins.

Oilean ina n-aonar↑ is an adult island with a note for visitors that clothing is not required.  I didn’t see any evidence that the residents here are so lost to good sense that they wander around naked in this weather but you should be aware that you may if you wish.

I spent some time basking in the satisfaction of eliminating another item on my bucket list while enjoying a bit of something which may have been alcoholic in the comfort of a friendly gentleman’s cottage.  He was very experienced in warming the occasional traveler – and his methods are none of your business.  They are, however, very effective.  I’m sure I’ll get back in time to finish Christmas shopping – really!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. OOOOH ARE THEY BREEDABLE?
    CAN YOU FEED THEM TO MEEROOS?
    CAN YOU SKIN THEN AND WEAR THEM AS A FASHION ACCESSORY AND GET SCREAMED AT MY LOONY PETA ACTIVISTS?

    :)

    *muwah*

    -ls/cm

    Reply
  1. On the Trail of the Wild Irish Puffin in Second Life | Metaverse NewsWatch | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

