It’s a Kuru Kuru World in Second Life – and you have to see this!

Kuru Kuru World (general)

Every now and then I’ll suddenly get a series of messages from different artists asking me if I’ve “seen this” yet.  I get really excited because if they’re impressed I know I’m going to visit something special. You need to keep in mind as you look at these photos that they each represent a giant space you walk through and experience.  These are not small static builds.

Mikati Slade↑ is one of my favourite people inworld.  She is a very talented and sweet woman who has managed to learn english using Second Life and creates magic but, as one artist said, “She’s outdone herself this time!”.

Kuru Kuru World (general)

Hosted by MiC: Museums of Rome Capital, Mikati has created Kuru Kuru World↑.  In her words:

“Kuru kuru” [Japanese expression used to describe rotation]. Kuru Kuru World is about the cyclical nature of human history and civilization. Different parts of this art exhibit describe the development, destruction, and rebirth of human life and societal systems. The exhibit is built using 8-bit console game pixel graphics, primitive symbols of today’s technology.

I don’t even want to think about the technical skills involved – it takes all of my brain to absorb the wonders of the result.

Kuru Kuru World (general)

The landing spot is impressive enough but use the teleporter to enter the exhibit and then successive teleports to visit the various areas and you will be completely awe struck.

I’ve seen a few really remarkable installations lately and what fascinates me is how very different they are.  The visions, stories and images are unique but the immersive qualities are shared and you really need to add this one to your “must see” list.

Kuru Kuru World (general)

If you are at all familiar with Mikati’s work you will probably associate her with colour.  The last two spaces in this exhibit are a departure – but when you get to the end and there’s no teleport button, look for her signature.  Follow the small amount of colour and you’ll find your way.

The logon screen today asked me what I was grateful for in Second Life.  Today I’m grateful that I have artist friends who want me to “see” great things and I’m very grateful we have talents like Mikati creating truly extraordinary experiences for the rest of us.

Kuru Kuru World (general)
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Mikati Slade

     /  January 16, 2012

    Hello Honour! Thank you very very much for featuring My Exhibition on your great blog! I was shy when after soon of the exhibition started because I already had not any energy and I was dissatisfaction with the building. But you found this exhibition and wrote this great article, this thing gave me great energy ^^
    Thank you very much, Honour!

    Reply
  1. It’s a Kuru Kuru World in Second Life – and you have to see this! | Logicamp | Scoop.it
  2. It’s a Kuru Kuru World in Second Life – and you have to see this! | Second Life and other Virtual Worlds | Scoop.it
  3. It’s a Kuru Kuru World in Second Life – and you have to see this! | Logicamp | Scoop.it
  4. It’s a Kuru Kuru World in Second Life – and you have to see this! | Logicamp
  5. It’s a Kuru Kuru World in Second Life – and you have to see this! | simulateurs | Scoop.it
  6. It’s a Kuru Kuru World in Second Life – and you have to see this! | Virtual Worlds Corner | Scoop.it
  7. It’s a Kuru Kuru World in Second Life – and you have to see this! | Digital Delights - Avatars | Scoop.it
  8. Kawaii War and Japanese Pop Art « Virtual Neko in Second Life
  9. Il grande successo di “Kuru Kuru World” « Blog Musei in Comune Roma

Leave a Reply

