Wherein the Intrepid Explorer Uncovers a Major Potential Health Crisis in Second Life

Trusty Old Pink Skin

We can all agree that I’m no fashionista (I’m no beauty queen either but that’s beside the point).  I do love non traditional skins – partly because I think they’re cool and partly because it gets rid of all the issues related to makeup etc., that I have with the “pink” ones.

I’ve been wearing my old “natural” standby more often lately so I thought maybe I should update it.  Buying a new one every three years can’t be seen as frivolous right?  I headed out into the grid to grab as many demos as I could find and then hid myself away to try them on.

Understand I went to some of the big/trendy/fashionable skin stores.  I thought I might as well start with places that didn’t require too much “finding”. I was obviously not paying attention to what I was grabbing – probably because I hate shopping so much and was trying to get it done as quickly as possible.

What I saw when I put on the first demo shocked me to the core.  It was the same with all of dozens of skins I tried.  Each of the many designers I sampled are endangering the health and well-being of Second Life residents!.

I have a pretty big mouth – can’t argue with that. So do I really need collagen?

OMG I look like Joan Rivers after her 93rd face lift!

When did this epidemic sweep the metaverse?  What are they thinking?  Haven’t they seen the dangers↑ of injecting foreign↑ substances into your lips↑?

One designer combined collagen/botox injections with sucked in cheeks – who wants to walk around with giant lips doing kissy face all day?

I’ve railed against barbie boobs and butts that have to enter the room 3 minutes after the rest of you (not accounting for lag) but this is a serious health hazard.  Do you know what it looks like when the shots start to wear off↑?

It’ll be a while before I’m willing to venture out into a skin store again.  I’ll just stick with “trusty old” in the meantime and try to erase the other images from my mind.

Or maybe I’ll go a different direction.  Let’s see somebody try and inject anything into her!

This might be the safest option
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Yes, the “kissing-gourami-fish” thing is definitely catching on in VR, even though “sucky-face” was kind-of petering out in RL.

    Reply
    • I think we need to take photos of the victims – something to show them months from now when they’re following the newest trend so we can say “you have no judgement, do you really want another fiasco like this one?”

      Reply
    • SL is always behind RL. People in SL still listen to rock music after all – and that’s 20 years dead. :)

      All them old folks (/hides birthdate).

      The botox thing’s annoying… but not something I can really rag on people over like proportions / scale. Its just bad taste in style – all opinion, no fact.

      There’s a flickr stream for ‘SL women with unique features that are not just the boring everyday folks’ – and its about 50%+ botox frowny faces. ;) Unique exactly like all the other uniquely identical people (that said the group seems to be shifting off that, I guess its editor realized they were clones).

      Reply
  2. Always told you that metal’s the only way to go.

    -ls/cm

    Reply
    • fine – but I’m allergic to rust, so I’ll stick to the newer hygienic kinds unlike some “bucket of bolts” robots I know. :p

      Reply
  3. (Looking up “ass, bite my” in the dictionary)

    -ls/cm

    Reply
  4. Scarp Godenot

     /  December 6, 2011

    Wow, that avatar in the last pic is verrrrry cool! Where did it come from? Who made it?

    Reply
    • It’s one of the Art Deco ladies by a japanese creator – can’t think of his name right now, I’ll im you when I’m next inworld and can find it. :)

      Reply
  5. have faith Honour! I’m not a fan of that either – part is shape and part is skin design. And you’d be amazed what the right lipstick will and won’t do to a skin.. :)

    Reply
  6. The human skin I infrequently use has a bright red lip color and wide lips, but I’d adjusted shape to a grim thin smirk and bought the dull lipstick option for it.

    Tack on a Terminator-2 facial overlay for proper battle damage, and it’s perfect.

    -ls/cm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

