Using Second Life to Work Through A Tough Day

Treptower Park (general)

Somedays, in any life, are harder than others.  Monday was one of those days for me.  My darling 90 year old mother, who of course knows more than all of us about her health and welfare, took her pills twice.  I didn’t know at first that’s what happened.  All I knew is that I was trying to pick her up off the floor and call the gorgeous firefighters and paramedics to come deal with the situation while I attemped to quiet the dogs and figure out how to unlock the door without moving.

Then later at the hospital while I tried to calm the rest of the family I told them a story they hadn’t yet heard.  I thought I’d share it with you.  Those of you with elderly parents might recognize them and those of you who aren’t at this point yet can get prepared.  Note that the photos don’t actually reflect the reality of what happened (*grin* my brother would not appreciate the truck).

Treptower Park (general)

Last summer my brother took our mother over to my sister’s cabin for a few days.  This involved a 2.5 hour ferry trip followed by a shorter journey in a tiny power boat over to a much smaller island.  They took my brother’s vehicle at the time, a (big, shiny, new, red) truck which he had outfitted with everything electronic that would fit.

Once they disembarked from the ferry my brother turned on his GPS to help him find the tiny, hidden dock where my sister was waiting for them.  This was my mother’s first exposure to GPS and, as she told me later, she was fascinated by this thing helping them get to exactly where they needed to go.

Treptower Park (general)

A few days after they returned she suddenly (as the elderly are wont) started talking about the experience with the GPS.  These conversations begin with non sequiturs but if you’re patient they will usually make sense, this one became just plain strange.

“I can’t get over it”, she exclaimed, “that woman’s voice saying turn left in 10 meters and look for this street.”  I said, “Well yes, that’s the point of GPS.  It gives you directions.”

She said, “I know but it’s so specific.  How does she keep track?”  I looked at her and thought “OK, I’m missing something.”

Karoastoff (general)

“What do you mean?” I asked. “How does who keep track of what?”

“How does she keep track of all those drivers?”

I said “What are you talking about?”

“Well” she replied. “I know a lot of people use that GPS.  How does she keep track of where all those drivers are so she can give them directions?  And where is she that she can see everybody? Doesn’t she get confused?”

There will be occasions when you’ll look at your parent and find you have absolutely no reply.

Outpost 13 (moderate)
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Serene Fairey

     /  November 29, 2011

    “There will be occasions when you’ll look at your parent and find you have absolutely no reply.” I reached that point with my father when I was a teenager LOL.

    Reply
  2. daleinnis

     /  December 4, 2011

    Well, how DOES she keep track?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

