A Far Simpler Perspective in Second Life

Piwnica pod Aniolami w Skirolawkach (moderate)

Ziki posted a gorgeous blog entry on Saturday after her visit to Piwnica pod Aniolami w Skirolawkach, and I couldn’t resist changing my plans to go explore. This is a stunning inworld landscape; one you really need to see.

Piwnica pod Aniolami w Skirolawkach (moderate)

She also did a great job of giving the background and credits for this rural gem by Gocha Merlin – so I strongly recommend you read her post. In the meantime I’m going to go back to my subject from yesterday – fixing perspective.

Piwnica pod Aniolami w Skirolawkach (moderate)

I told you that I was playing with the perspective transform function in Gimp – I’ve gotten it to the point that I can change something like the image above to the one below. However, as this type of thing normally does, it turns out the correct solution is much less labour intensive.

Piwnica pod Aniolami w Skirolawkach (moderate)

A couple of hours after I published that post I received a message on Twitter from the great Quadrapop Tree, a longtime resident of virtual worlds (see his metaverse pics here) and a photographer I’ve admired for years. Admired is an understatement, but I’ll stick with that.

Piwnica pod Aniolami w Skirolawkach (moderate)

The message was that there’s a keyboard shortcut in the Viewer that will change your screen from the default wide angle and eliminate the perspective distortion. No post-processing is then required.

From now on I will use ctl-0 a few times and then zoom out. If you want to return to default then use ctl-9. Somewhere there’s a pixel programmer who was watching me fuss in Gimp and laughing. :)

Piwnica pod Aniolami w Skirolawkach (moderate)
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Truly stunning…thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Inara Pey

     /  March 3, 2014

    Spent a happy afternoon there a few days ahead of Ziki after Miro Colas poked me about it on Twitter. Love it.

    Reply
  3. leliel

     /  March 5, 2014

    There’s actually a slider in preferences to change the field of view ( called “View angle” under move and view). Both the slider and these keyboard short cuts adjust the debug setting CameraAngle.

    Reply
  1. Changing the Perspective in Second Life | Honour's Post Menopausal View (of Second Life)
  2. A Far Simpler Perspective in Second Life | Seco...
  3. A Far Simpler Perspective in Second Life | Seco...

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 578 other followers

