Resisting Bryn in Second Life

Gretchen & Teddy (moderate)

Many years ago a friend’s mother took us both to a Dolly Parton concert. I enjoy her and her personality and her music, this was a fun excursion. In the middle of the evening she sang a song about a small boy and his puppy, both abandoned in the rain, rescued only to die and go to heaven together.

The entire audience was in tears. There was no applause and nobody heard the next song. I remember (while grabbing more tissues to blow my nose) thinking that I was far too easily manipulated on an emotional level. In other words, I’m a wuss.

Gretchen & Teddy (moderate)

Fast forward to the present. There are some things I know about Bryn Oh↑.

I know that she has enough talent for 10 artists. I know that I love her images and textures and builds. I know that she has an almost pathological distaste for chairs (if you went to Avatar Games then you know what I’m talking about). They are always broken, piled up, unused and unusable.

Gretchen & Teddy (moderate)

I know that Bryn is a superb storyteller. Her characters and narratives are rich and emotional and have impact.

What I’m leading up to is that Bryn, more often than not, makes me cry. Dammit.

Gretchen & Teddy (moderate)

I know that Bryn has a new, temporary, installation up on Immersiva↑. It’s only there until mid-January when her next major work will appear. It’s called Gretchen & Teddy.

The final thing I know, today anyway, is that if you think I’m going to click on that little girl and watch a video about her and her beloved bear, you have not been paying attention!

Gretchen & Teddy (moderate)
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Avatar Games? What’s that?

    -ls/cm

    Reply
  2. virtualchristine

     /  December 11, 2012

    Okay, I have a question. there were other artists in SL with the last name Oh. Were they in a group together or something? They can’t actually be realted as they were all around before generational avatars were developed this year. Oh yes, I am up on things! But this is a serious question. How did it go with the Panda?

    Reply
    • I don’t know if it was an organized thing – probably more like they all just signed on at the same time and picked that last name.
      The panda and I had a long conversation – he’s very funny. A second date is likely!

      Reply
  3. virtualchristine

     /  December 11, 2012

    realted is how very intelligent people say RELATED.

    Reply
  4. I’m sur he is a smooth talker-Wait until you try to eat together, and he expects you or the waiter to fly to a remote region in China and harvest semi mature bamboo. I’m just saying.

    Reply
  1. Resisting Bryn in Second Life « Honour's Post Menopausal View (of ... | Second Virtual Life | Scoop.it
  2. Resisting Bryn in Second Life « Honour's Post Menopausal View (of ... | cool stuff from research | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 579 other followers

