On Mainland & Scavenging Windlight in Second Life

Purple (moderate)

My explorations were inspired this morning by this photo↑ from Prandi Capalini↑ (who does exceptional work). I was hoping for a location to mess with settings and this bit of mainland (yes, it’s mainland) was ideal.

Purple (moderate)

One of the many things I lost when I had to replace my hard drive was my folder of windlight settings. I finally set out the other day to rebuild that inventory and discovered that the links to some of my favourites no longer work. I was not a happy camper.

Purple (moderate)

I came up with a solution which works exceedingly well but may leave me open to condemnation. I haven’t decided if I should feel guilty about this or not but I’m going to put it out there for those who might wind up with the same problem. I, um, sourced them from a third party viewer.

Purple (moderate)

When I realized this other viewer has all the settings I was missing (plus some great new ones), I downloaded it and copied the windlight files to my desktop. Then I uninstalled that viewer and put the settings in the one I use.

In spite of feeling like a criminal I had fun playing with them. You should go visit Purple↑ - if the viewer police come looking for me, just spell my name wrong. They’ll never find me. :)

Purple (moderate)
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. OH MY GOD! BRILLO PADS!

    -ls/cm

    Reply
  2. I thought everyone pirated windlight settings?

    Reply
  3. I save things I really don’t want to lose in the cloud. In my case I use DropBox. It’s worth considering… :)

    Reply
  4. I owe almost all my Windlight settings to TPVs. After all, they scrounged them, too. Now if I can figure out how to make my own Day settings I’ll be okay.

    FYI: Did you check in at border control when you entered Mainland? I don’t see any record of your visit. I’ll need to see your passport, young lady.

    Reply
  1. On Mainland & Scavenging Windlight in Second Life « Honour's ... | Second Virtual Life | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 516 other followers

