Celebrity Blow Your Tits Off (and a tiling bug update) in Second Life

I may be “old” but I’m not a complete prude, however, I always brace myself before going to see a Maya Paris↑ installation because I know once I do a post about the exhibit I’m going to start getting hits from very strange searches. I mean it’s bad enough that they find my blog looking for “out there” stuff but do I really want to know that somebody is interested in “sex with pigs”?

I keep going to see her work because I enjoy it and the latest is no exception. Celebrity Blow Your Tits Off↑ gives us the opportunity to be a game piece in the cult of fame and adoration based on perfection and beauty – at least the way it’s interpreted by her talented albeit warped mind.

Your journey will transform you – at least it will transform your avatar. I don’t do images of myself typically but I thought I’d demonstrate by showing you my own “before and after”.

Begin by suffering the “slings and arrows” of the giant pinball machine. You are at the mercy of outside forces dictating how and where you should be – much like our apparent willing subjugation to the influence of those infallible dictators of taste that seem to be everywhere.

As you aim for the brass ring of celebrity based on someone’s concept of “beauty”, transform through the levels, brave the paparazzi, cringe at the accusations of cellulite, gaze nervously at the dangers of sex tapes, and finally enter rehab, consider the impact of these self-appointed judges of what is and what is not acceptable.

I find the whole concept of “fug” to be nauseating – there’s an arrogance and meanness that is offensive and it isn’t just real life where we have to confront the challenges of “perfect’.

There are many fashionistas and fashionistos in Second Life I enjoy – usually because they have the wit and intelligence not to take themselves too seriously. The rest aren’t worth the space they’re given in my own humble opinion. :)

Have some fun and go enjoy Maya’s latest venture↑. Turn off your AO, turn on sounds and particles and enjoy the ride while considering whether or not you’ve allowed yourself to play this game for real.

I’ll end today with a quick update on the tiling bug↑. Runitai Linden↑ posted an update on the JIRA↑ yesterday and progress is being made! In fact a solution to the problem has moved into QA.

Now some caveats: the solution will only work if you have lighting and shadows enabled; the size of photograph will dictate whether the old tiling render approach affects you (it will depend on your video card which, frankly, is true for everything); and if you have Debug GL turned on you will crash. I’m guessing we’ll all forget these cautions and there will be complaints but the good news is that the “bug” may have reached the end of its lifecycle.

I am feeling cautiously optimistic. Oh and here is a shot of me after I completed my expedition through the world of Celebrity↑. I’m gorgeous now right? Luckily the “tit stabilizers” make it possible to move but the waving genitals are a bit distracting.  :)

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Celebrity Blow Your Tits Off (and a tiling bug update) in Second Life ... | Second Virtual Life | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers

